I’m suddenly obsessed with making one of these.

My home thermostat is a pain to use and programming it is akin to using punch cards. Sometimes it randomly decides that I would enjoy living in a damn meat locker and being the brave soul I am, it falls upon me to make the dangerous trek from our cozy bed to go turn the heat on in our house.

Recently I was at Verizon for my free phone upgrade and while waiting to speak to a perky associate, I began playing with the whizbang digital smart thermostat they had on display. I don’t have a spare arm and leg so getting one is not possible right now but I began wondering if any other nerds like me slightly obsessive DIYers like myself have built their own. Turns out a lot of people have.

There are several plans and tutorials out there but this one intrigued me the most and now I’m moderately obsessed with the idea.

More to come.

Leave a Reply

